No patterns are set for this kind of facility yet.
09People and organisations
Who is involved
No one in a public role is on the record for this facility yet. A is recorded separately, only when an organisation names one.
10Positions and public activity
Who has said what
No attributed positions on the record yet. Each one, when added, says who, when, where and what they said, and why it's included. The operator's response sits beside them.
11History
Dated records
Oct 26, 2011
EPA Victoria licences the Altona site for bulk storage (prescribed activity G04) under an operating licence first issued in 2011 and last amended in 2022.
Oct 26, 2011
Mobil Refining Australia Pty Ltd holds EPA Victoria operating licence OL000068867 for the Altona activity site.
Jan 1, 2021
Mobil says refurbishing tanks since 2021 has added almost 250 million litres of fuel storage capacity at the Altona site.
Sep 1, 2025
Mobil said in September 2025 that demolition of tanks, former refinery process units and associated infrastructure at the Altona site had begun that month.
12News and references
What has been published about it
No news items on the record yet. How often this list is refreshed hasn't been decided.
13NextSteps
What would move this forward
No NextSteps on the record yet.
EPA and court enforcement for the Altona site and its operator, last 10 years
Not searched yet.
Would fill it: EPA compliance and enforcement register; court decisions (a person retrieves AustLII decisions).
Measured emissions to air from the Altona site
Not searched yet: the National Pollutant Inventory and NGER facility data, and EPA performance statements.
Would fill it: NPI facility reports for the site; EPA permission information and performance statements.
Contamination records for the Altona site
Not searched yet: Victoria Unearthed (priority sites, environmental audits, audit overlay) needs a person to search its map.
Would fill it: Priority Sites Register entries, environmental audit reports and any audit overlay for the site.
How much financial assurance EPA holds for the Altona site
The licence requires a financial assurance but doesn't state the amount.
Would fill it: The amount and form of financial assurance, from EPA's public register or EPA directly.
Whether the Altona site adjoins Kororoit Creek Conservation Area
Kororoit Creek Conservation Area has no official outline in PLOT's map layers, so code can't compute it; the site is within Hobsons Bay (computed).
Would fill it: An official outline for the conservation area, or a person's decision on the map.
Mobil says decommissioning of the former refinery began in late 2021, starting with catalyst removal.
Refinery decommissioning began (late 2021)
· · Late 2021
Mobil says the demolition works are planned to continue to the end of 2027.
Demolition planned to end of 2027
· · To the end of 2027
Mobil said in September 2025 that demolition of tanks, former refinery process units and associated infrastructure at the Altona site had begun that month.
Demolition of former refinery facilities began (September 2025)
· · September 2025
Mobil says refurbishing tanks since 2021 has added almost 250 million litres of fuel storage capacity at the Altona site.
~ 250 million litres
· · 2021 to September 2025
EPA Victoria licences the Altona site for bulk storage (prescribed activity G04) under an operating licence first issued in 2011 and last amended in 2022.
G04 (Bulk storage)
legal transaction · legal register · Issued 26 October 2011; last amended 21 July 2022
The licence requires the holder to give EPA a financial assurance, in a form and amount EPA decides; the licence does not state the amount.
Required; amount set by EPA and not stated in the licence
legal transaction · legal register · Licence as amended 21 July 2022
The licence requires the holder to keep a decommissioning plan that follows EPA's guidelines, and to decommission the site to EPA's satisfaction.
Required
legal transaction · legal register · Licence as amended 21 July 2022
The licence limits the site's total discharge of volatile organic compounds to air to 578 tonnes a year, premises-wide.
<= 578 t/year
legal transaction · legal register · Licence as amended 21 July 2022
The licence sets no water discharge points for the site.
None licensed
legal transaction · legal register · Licence as amended 21 July 2022
Mobil says it will work with EPA on remediating areas of the site to reflect any future change in land use.
Remediate areas to suit any future change in land use, working with EPA
· · Undated web page, read 22 Oct 2026
The licence limits the site's discharge of benzene to air to 5.4 tonnes a year, premises-wide.
<= 5.4 t/year
legal transaction · legal register · Licence as amended 21 July 2022
15Notes
Reviewed notes
No reviewed notes. A note is PLOT's or a contributor's interpretation, with its author and sources, published only after review.